Taking Stock’

It’s not often you wake up to newly fallen snow, as if in a Charles Dicken’s novel, but this morning it was my prelude to the day.

Yesteray the same snowfall would have been a miracle.

79D7497D-74E5-4E33-A499-0EBAE61D7880

Today though, thousands of miles away, I could have expected it.

7805709B-568E-48CB-9F39-DEB057DE63E7

 

 

 

Yesterday evening I changed trains on my way from the airport and a kindly blond Swede named Michael offered to help me with my luggage. Little did he know my bigger case was 30kg, and that one of its wheels were mangled. Nevertheless it turned out we were catching the same onward train, and he went on to buy us a drink each while we waited for it in Stockholm. I know just enough about this country to realise that a drink is no menial offer here in Sweden. I could barely bring myself to look at the price board.

 

During the second train ride I excitedly notified an acquaintance that I’d soon be arriving. The gentleman took it upon himself to offer me a ride from the station! It was a relief when the train came to a halt in the dark and drizzly night.

 

This afternoon I was at a loss to find WiFi to inform a couple of folks I’d arrived. One of these folks was the owner of the spectacular house I’m lodging at, so it was fairly pressing.

I asked the first passer by for a cafe with internet to which the young man not only replied politely in English, but pointed to his car a few steps away from us and offered me a ride to town! His name was Akka and might have been if North African origin.

 

That is where I write you from you now. Feeling well-accepted and comfortable thanks to a few considerate gestures. I can’t downplay the importance of the quietness of the place in general though.

No shocks of abruptly barking dogs awaiting me at a surprisingly close distance. No gratuitous car honking. simple.

Leave a comment